International Union of Architects (UIA)


Created in 1994, this commission dedicated nine years to intensive research and debate in the drafting of the ‘UIA Accord on Recommended International Standards of Professionalism in Architectural Practice’ and nine corresponding policy guidelines. The Accord contains a declaration of professional principles and sixteen general policy statements approved by the UIA general assembly in Beijing, PR of China, in 1999. The accord and guidelines are regularly enhanced and updated by the commission. In addition to professionals, the Accord is intended as a guide to governments and lawmakers in every country, and international professional mobility is among its objectives.


The International Union of Architects (UIA) is a non-governmental organization, a global federation of national associations of architects that are its members. The UIA’s goal is to unite the architects of the world without any form of discrimination. From the 27 delegations present at the founding assembly in Lausanne, Switzerland, in 1948, the UIA has grown to encompass the key professional organizations of architects in 124 countries and territories, and now represents, through these organizations, close to one million three hundred thousand architects worldwide.


The General Assembly

The UIA General Assembly is made up of delegates from all the union’s Member Sections, and meets every three years. The assembly examines reports from Council on activities carried out during the triennial period as well as propositions, its lays out triennial governance strategies for the union and elects Bureau and Council members.

Council Members
Four representatives from each region are elected to serve as UIA Council Members. The UIA Council meets twice a year.

Bureau Members
The President, immediate past President, Secretary General, and Treasurer along with the five Regional Vice-Presidents make up the UIA Bureau, which meets twice a year, in between Council sessions. The Bureau members are also part of the UIA Council. Current President is Albert Dubler, 1st Vice-President is Esa Mohamed and 2nd Vice-President is Thomas Vonier.

UIA is the professional network that unites 130 countries and territories. The composition of UIA Councils is on Region I –Western Europe, Region II – Eastern Europe and the Middle East, Region III – The Americans, Region IV – Asia and Oceania and Region V – Africa. Four representatives from each region are elected to serve as UIA Council Members. Each UIA Member Section is the most representative professional organization of architects in a given country. These organizations compose the UIA, the only global network of architecture professionals. The UIA Member Sections are grouped geographically according to five regions: Western Europe, Eastern Europe and the Middle East, the Americas, Asia and Oceania, and Africa.


Address:                       General Secretariat of the UIA
                                    Tour Maine Montparnasse – B.P . 158
                                    33, avenue du Maine
                                    75755 PARIS Cedex 15
                                    Tel : (33.1) 45 24 36 88
                                    Fax : (33.1) 45 24 02 78