European Association for Architectural education (EAAE)


The EAAE provides the framework whereby its members can find information on other schools and addresses a variety of important issues in conferences, workshops and summer schools for young teachers. The Association publishes and distributes proceedings. It also grants awards and prizes. It provides its Data Bank information to its members. 


The EAAE was founded in 1975 and has grown in stature to become an institution fulfilling an increasingly essential role in providing a European perspective for the work of architectural educationalists as well as concerned governmental agencies. It is an international non-profit association committed to the exchange of ideas and people within the field of architectural education and research. The EAAE aims at improving the knowledge base and the quality of architectural and urban design education. It is a bi-lingual English/French association. 

Since 2013, the head of the EAAE is the President Karl Otto Ellefsen. The EAAE has the Council with 10 members and 15 Project leaders. The EAAE counts more than 140 Active Member Schools in Europe from the Canary Islands to the Urals, representing almost 5.000 tenured faculty members and more than 120.000 students of architecture from the undergraduate to the doctoral level. The association is building up associate membership worldwide. Except countries there are also school, associate and individual members of the EAAE.

Member Countries:

Albania, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malta, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine

Honorary Members:

Hans Haenlein (London), Herbert Kramel (Zurich – Architekturabteilung ETH Zürich), N.O. Lund (Aarhus – Arkitektskolen in Aarhus), Constantin Spiridonidis (Thessaloniki – School of Architecture – Aristotle University of Thessaloniki), Herman Neuckermans (Leuven, Departement A.S.R.O. – K.U. Leuven), Hentie Louw (Newcastle Upon Tyne, School of Architecture, Planning & Landscape – University of Newcastle), Jean-François Mabardi (Leuven), Stefano F. Musso (Genova, Facoltà di Architettur – Università degli Studi di Genova), Ebbe Harder (Copenhagen – School of Architecture, Design and Conservation – The Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts), Pierre von Meiss (Lausanne), Francis Nordemann (Paris – Ecole Nationale Superiéure d’Architecture de Paris-Belleville), James F. Horan (Dublin – Dublin School of Architecture at DIT), Per Olaf Fjeld (Oslo – Oslo School of Architecture)



Representative:             Doc. Ing. Arch. Ľubica Vítková, PhD. (member of Executive Board of the SCA, Dean of Faculty of architecture at Slovak Technical University)

Address:                       EAAE-AEEA
                                    Department of Architecture
                                    Kasteel van Arenberg 1
                                    B-3001 Leuven
                                    Tel +32 (0)16321694
                                    Fax +32 (0)16321962